General Anthony Wayne Chapter Sons of the American Revolution
HomeAbout UsActivitiesMembershipContact Us

Contact Us
About the General Anthony Wayne Chapter
The Sons of the American Revolution is a patriotic organization comprised of members whose ancestors supported the cause of American Independence during the years 1774-1783. It is the purpose of our group to maintain and extend the institutions of American freedom, an appreciation for true patriotism, a respect of national symbols, and the value of American citizenship. We do this by perpetuating the stories of patriotism, courage, sacrifice, tragedy, and triumph of the men who achieved the independence of the American people in the belief that these stories are universal ones of man's eternal struggle against tyranny, relevant to all time. We believe that these stories will inspire and strengthen each succeeding generation to defend our freedoms on the battlefield and in our public institutions. If you are believe that you have Revolutionary War ancestor and are interesting in becoming a member please contact our Registrar by using the Request Info button on the right.
Click below to contact
our membership chair
History of the General Anthony Wayne Chapter

The General Anthony Wayne Chapter was originally designated as the Beaver Valley Chapter.  It was formed after the termination of the Sons of the American Revolution Ambridge Chapter.  The Ambridge Chapter was active from 1924 to 1937 under the leadership of George H Kelly.  Following the revocation of the Ambridge Chapter’s state charter, it reorganized as the General Anthony Wayne Chapter headquartered in Beaver Falls.  Many of the former members of the Ambridge Chapter associated themselves with the new chapter.  The new chapter was organized at a meeting held at the Brodhead Hotel in Beaver Falls .  The following named officers were elected: Myron E. Rowley, president; Clifford H. Beegle, first vice president; George H. Kelley, second vice president-chancelor; Archie Dean Dungan, third vice president; Mortimor S. Ashton, secretary-treasurer-chaplain; Clair L. Bloom, registrar; William D. Crawford, genealogist and Frank E. Read, historian.  Additional members to the Board of Managers: J.A.C. Ruffner, Jr., Charles N. Ramsey, S. Warren-Lyons, Ira H. Todd, William D. Crawford, William B. Brown, and George F. MacDonald.  This new chapter was instituted at Heath Manor, the home of Charles Beegle located in Patterson Heights, Beaver Falls, PA.

The chapter at Beaver Falls selected the name of General Anthony Wayne in order to honor this distinguished Revolutionary brigadier-general.  The general had previously been memorialized by the Wayne Chapter in Erie during its existence from 1903 to 1916.  The name “Anthony Wayne” was selected in commemoration of General “Mad” Anthony Wayne, the American Revolutionary War patriot who later became the hero of the Battle of Fallen Timbers.  Legionville, Wayne’s historic encampment is located in Beaver County.

Every year the members of the chapter work to educate others about our national heritage. It recognizes those individuals and organizations that exhibit the ideals of American patriotism. The Chapter sponsors a Junior ROTC Award, the Eagle Scout Award, the Beaver County Outstanding Citizenship Award, the Outstanding Student at Geneva College and the Knight Essay Contest.  In the past, the Anthony Wayne Chapter has received numerous awards and citations from the National and State Societies.
The SAR Pledge

“We the descendents of the heroes of the American Revolution,
who by their sacrifices, established the United States of America,
reaffirm our faith in the principles of liberty and our Constitutional Republic,
and solemnly pledge to defend it against every foe.”